my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

173. Spontaneous Vietnamese cooking class photo dump (Hoi An - Day 2)

The nutty part about me going to Vietnam was that I was supposed to be a part-time admin guy for a start-up that never left the ground yet. I left a position that I never even started in, I guess. I'm glad I didn't sign any papers, in all honesty...

Here are some photos of what I saw on my second day in Hoi An.


IMG_1880

Me riding in the basket boat alone. I was the most important boat because I had all of the ingredients and bags in my basket...

Cẩm Thanh, often referred to as the Coconut Village, is just a brief 10 to 15-minute taxi ride from Hoi An. Nestled along the Thu Bon River, this tranquil area is interwoven with tributaries flowing through lush coconut palm forests. Here, you can experience a ride in a traditional Vietnamese basket boat, also known as a coracle.

It's hard to fathom how the Vietnamese manage to use these in the open ocean. They lack everything we typically expect in a boat, like the ability to maintain a straight line, avoid spinning, and provide stability... yet they’ve been successfully used for millennia, alongside more conventional boats. The guides navigated us upstream and into the channels of a local island.

IMG_1895

We spun, rocked and frolicked in the tiny boats, under the sun. This guy is always doing tricks and spinning around in the middle of the water. Cool spectacle indeed.

IMG_1923

Photo of a boat I saw along the river. Very touristy things I did.


I really didn't expect this all to happen so suddenly when I spontaneously signed up for this cooking class. Basically, this was my itinerary that day:

Activities: Marker tour, a boat trip, basket boat riding, rice paper making

Duration: 5 hours

--

--

IMG_1936 Here's my work station

Menu:

  1. Gỏi cuốn (Fresh Spring Rolls)
  2. Bánh xèo (Crispy fried stuffed pancake)
  3. B(Fried noodles salad with beef)
  4. Pho bo (Beef noodle soup)

Vegetarian options available upon request.

IMG_1931

My spring roll

IMG_1934

This is my bánh xèo (Vietnamese stuffed pancake)

IMG_1938 My artistic rendition of the bún bò xào

IMG_1942 This is my pho. It was so good. I had seconds actually.


I spent the day more relaxed.

IMG_1970

This has to be the Vietnamese version of a Filipino halo-halo or a Malaysian/Indonesia cendol

IMG_1952 An Bang Beach. This is the East Vietnam Sea

IMG_1954 Evening dinner view


~ master chef,

<3 K

🍄 https://marblethoughts.bearblog.dev/

#beach #cooking #cuisine #food #relax #travel #vietnam