my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

166. Taxis like to talk to me

In SE Asia, one of the popular ride sharing apps is called Grab. Most locals and travelers always have that on their mobile when they need to get somewhere in a pinch and there’s no public transportation nearby.

3 out of 5 times, the Grab driver likes to make conversation with me. When I was in Vietnam, I really didn’t get much time to chit chat because I was usually on a bike, whizzing through traffic. Malaysian drivers are a bit more curious when they see me show up in the backseat. It’s always nice to have a good chat.

Today I talked pleasantries with abang1 while cruising through the freeway and showing him songs on Spotify. He was happy to chat.

0EE49925-3DDC-47DC-AE7B-68316FAF482F

I suggested some Rex Orange County and was explaining to abang how I found it funny that the musician is from the UK even though he got that “Orange County” in his handle

Taxi chit-chat is such an integral part of urban life. It’s a ritual I’ve come to appreciate. I’m often found more amused or enlightened by the exchanges in the backseat. Lots of people are eager to share their insight with a willing (or not so willing) passenger.


~ a cash cab fan,

<3 K

🍄 https://marblethoughts.bearblog.dev/

  1. older brother or just older male