my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

159. Soup Party #1 (March 2024 edition)

I took a gander at the contents of my refrigerator and saw all of these random vegetables lying around. Some had been cut up, some had been sliced up. It’s an odd reason to have a hodgepodge of different ingredients, so I decided to call up my friends and have, what I call, a “soup party.”

What is a soup party? Great question.

It’s a party with soup.


Planning the soup party

Thinking not about what my personal four favorite soups are, but how I would plan a menu that wouldn't leave people tired of soup at the end, I'd be thinking about the spectrum of different flavors/textures a soup can have. Some riffs on this line of thinking:

  1. A soup with a creamy-smooth texture, basically creamy with no add-ins, but maybe some croutons on top (chunky components)

  2. A soup that is more brothy and thinner with chunky components (whether it be chunks of meat, root vegetables, etc.)

  3. A soup with noodles (like pho, or mini noodle bits like in chicken soup)

Different broth base: pureed veggies, creamy, robust broth, thin broth

Protein: vegetarian, seafood, chicken, pork or beef

Cuisine: Western, East Asian, SE Asian, Latin American, etc.


For my very first soup party, I made the mistake of having three very thin soups. I made a vegetarian soup, a chicken soup, and miso soup.

About 6 of my friends showed up at my apartment. The friends that I made in Malacca also came. We all chilled out on my bed, had some comforting soup, and watched Wonka (2024) together.

The first soup party was such a success, I plan on making more soup parties every month.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me


~ miso maker,

<3 K

🍄 https://marblethoughts.bearblog.dev/